Home » Books » The Book Thief By Markus Zusak

The Book Thief By Markus Zusak

The Book Thief was a book that I recently just finished. I got it over the summer from over priced Barnes & Nobles and I never got a chance to read it until late summer since I was reading The Wind Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami and The Jungle by Upton Sinclair. Then I finally did get to read The Book Thief and I was really amazed at this book. This book is definitely one of the darkest I read but it also had a little bit of light in it. The book had tons of death, oddly enough the book is narrated by death itself, the narrater is Death, a person who obviosly collects the souls of people who die. By the way when I give summaries of books I will try not to spoil it for you. So the book is  about a German girl named Liesel who steals books and ends up living in a new home with foster parents on Himmel street. when her brother passed away, she stole a book at his funeral when one of the grave diggers dropped it on his way somewhere. The first act of stealing a book eventually turn into a bad habit where she constantly has to steal any book she sees. Living in nazi Germany, words were considered an evil thing which is why books are becoming hard to find since all the books were getting burned. Her passion for books and literature will later save her life. The book is about friendship, man’s inhumanity, literature’s importance to society, and death. Yes, it is a very dark book but there is some humor and hope in it. The Book Thief in my opinion is probably one of the most touching and inspirational books I have ever read. I really enjoyed it.


3 thoughts on “The Book Thief By Markus Zusak

  1. he is an excelent writer. in my opinion his words give inspiration to many people young or old it doesent matter. his words realy touched me and i am sur that they schange many peoples lifes.

  2. I read this book almost 3 years ago, but I remember feeling an overwhelming sense of sadness after finishing it. Yet, it’s a satisfying ending though. I have read his other novel, I am the Messenger, which is really good too. I suggest that one to you actually, it’s not the same as the Book Thief but it’s one of those books that teach people to do good, because it will change your life.

Leave a comment